Bridges–On Becoming a Parent

Handspans ago
I measured time through
Swollen fingers
Waiting for contractions
Pushes that brought
Children.
Beginnings.

Bridges over the unforeseen.
Disinterested, heretofore,
I crossed anyway.
Knee deep in ice cold waters
Murky with uncertainty
My shoes and socks got soaked.
Salted joy.

Along the way
I grabbed slimy rocks,
Dreams I thought True and
Slipped.

Playgrounds
Once structured my days,
A stopping point, fresh air, lunch,
A lifeline to other adults.
Now, just a glimpse back
Breezing by other people’s Time
A conversation piece on walks.

“I can’t believe I survived those years,”
A friend remarked.
Alone for hours, day after day,
Leaking milk through men’s shirts
I understand but
View those crossings differently.

Bridges
Threaded thimbles to hold the gush
Living life down to the bone
Raw.
The dive from gossamer pathways
A webbed wealth
Spanning meaning
Started the rest of my life.

Serenity
Bloodlines.
Identity.

Bridge

Leave a Reply

