Water: Men with Needles

Sunset capes day’s shoulders.
Bedtime soon.
Water pools on my seat.
A breaking.
Hospital bound instead.

Intermittent light pressure.
Bradley trained
I’m thinking natural birth.

Dimmed lights,
Music plays brought from a
Bag packed, weeks ago.

Hours, little progress.
Next door, someone shrieks.
Active labor for her
Nothing for me.
Another day.

Sleep entrances
Whispering close by, waving distantly
From the cusps between vice grips
Impossible.

“I can’t anymore. Find help.”

Smaller bald man
Opens a hard case
Revealing shiny tools, a mega long needle

“Hold Still.”

Unfamiliar male hand grazes my hip
Measuring for the injection’s place.
I crumple.

href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/water/”>Water

Leave a Reply

