Guests: Wicker Hugs

waterUnversed in manners and consideration.
A rusty nail, feeble in rotted wood
Housekeeping piles.
Dish towels, laundry, soggy.
“Petals on a wet, black bough”.

I give hosting my best shot
If I know in advance you are coming.
Dusting, scrubbing, shining
My gross and fine motors pay
A tax long overdue.

Guests sleep in my bedroom
Plumped pillows
Sheets freshened with lavender spray

A personalized basket awaits.
Wicker hugs filled with apples
“Stem end and blossom end” fragrant
Water bottles, clear with sticky caps.
Touches of forethought.

I may not have been a sweet child
But try to remember now.

Guest

 

 

Leave a Reply

