The Only Voyage

 

upsidedown

Time inches along

I pick at my cuticles.

Time bursts ahead

45 in a minute.

Breathe.

Something for me

Something for you.

 

I glance around

Children stem up and out

Climbing and branching through

Illuminating teen years.

Birthdays.

 

I got this one.

 

Permits, car keys now.

Bright smiles, good health.

Their burgeoning humor

Feather whip, newly sharpened

Cuts unexpected guffaws

From deep within my gut.

 

Sips of salty tears

Punctuate the years too

Searing streaks into my heart

But not so many, luckily.

 

I carry on in this voyage

Because I’m known to

Grasp for intention

Mention

Dimension.

Voyage

Leave a Reply

